News‎ > ‎Club News‎ > ‎

Club Honours 2011 Achievers

posted 13 Dec 2011, 05:17 by WCC Bowls   [ updated 29 Jan 2012, 23:56 ]
Sat, 10 Dec 2011

The club's annual Awards Evening was held at the Lapa on Saturday evening.

Proceedings kicked off with the Club Captain, Sandy Joubert, recapping the club's achievements for the year, in which the club:
Won the National League, finishing top in the Men's, Ladies and 2nd Divisions, runners-up in the 1st Division while our Third team came third in the 2nd Division;
Won the Windhoek League, finishing top in the 1st and 2nd Divisions and runner-up in the Premier Division;
Won the FNB Challenge Trophy against Eros Bowling Club;

Among the Individual member achievements:
Graham Snyman represented Namibia at the World Cup singles competition in Warilla,
Wouter du Plooy in the Namibian u/25 Invitation Team,
Ken Morland as the Namibian Men's Team Manager (u25s and RSA Test),
Jean Joubert as the Namibian Ladies Team Manager (AST),
Jean Joubert, Avril Kotze and Babs vd Merwe in the Namibian Ladies Veterans Team,
Graham Snyman and Johan Jacobs in the Namibian Men's Team,
Marie vd Merwe, Charlotte Morland and Sheena du Toit in the Namibian Ladies Team

Each of the Club Competition Winners received their trophy and certificate while the Runners-up were acknowledged and presented a certificate for their achievement (see link at bottom for complete list).

The "Most Improved Bowler" and "Bowler of the Year" prizes are among the most prestigious awarded by the club with the recipients announced at the Prize Giving.

Congratulations to Hein Cloete, a first year bowler, who was selected as the "Most Improved Bowler".

A new award, "Bowler of the Year", was introduced this year. Criteria used in determining the recipient of this award included attendance at Practice, attendance at Tabs-in, League participation as well as Club and NBA competition placings.

After a busy season five players were in the running; Jean Joubert (139), Charlotte Morland (140), Graham Snyman (140), Desmond vd Smit (140), with the top honour of "Bowler of the Year" going to a much deserving Marie vd Merwe (141).

The Club Captain rounded off the evening thanking all of the members for their hard work and contributions during the year saying "that we will carry on in the New Year even stronger".

Needless to say, as with all our social functions, festivities carried on late into the night, with many tired feet the following morning.

Once again, congratulations to all of the Winners, Runners-up and members on a superb year!
Wishing everyone a joyous holiday season and pleasant journey. We look forward to seeing you at the club in the New Year! 

National and Club Honours List 2011